Kingdom Hearts III @E3: New Trailers, All-New Worlds Revealed, and the Official Release Date! + Pre-Order The Bundle

12 Jun

Hello Gen Next readers! It’s been a while since I’ve posted! I appreciate your patience. I’ve been wanting to get in on Kingdom Hearts since we’ve been getting a lot of information about the game lately. Even though I’m sure most Kingdom Hearts fans have seen everything, I had my own comments and concerns.

The E3 event this weekend was a big weekend for Kingdom Hearts information! After a few “chosen” people were able to play a demo of Kingdom Hearts III, I didn’t think it could get anymore exciting. It turns out everyone who attended the E3 event ALSO got to play a demo! Lucky dogs!

Of course, with the Kingdom Hearts Orchestra in full force, I’m certain there’s more to be revealed and more excitement along the way!

I will be attending one of the orchestras. šŸ˜‰

Back to E3…

So far, we got 3, yes THREE, new Kingdom Hearts III trailers! And that’s aside from the Classic Kingdom Kingdom Hearts III trailer that released a month ago.

Let’s do a run-down of everything, shall we?

 

I’ve been meaning to talk about this trailer. First, I just want to remark on Twilight Town…This must be Twilight Town because we see the familiar characters. I must say it looks way better than I expected. We’ve been teased with Twilight Town before when it was just in its development stages. But man!

And the fact that Tetsuya has already stated that the worlds are massive? That gets me wondering how much we really will get to see of this world…Maybe it will finally start to look like a city, instead of just a neighborhood within a city.

The mini-game in this trailer brings me back to the Steamboat Willie world in Kingdom Hearts II. It looks like fun. It has an old-fashioned feeling that I really like. I get the feeling some people will complain about it, especially if it turns out to be really important to the game, but I look forward to it. And Sora is playing his own Nintendo Switch….Does that mean we might get this game on the Switch? I hope that’s a hint…

First thing…ENGLISH SUBS. That pretty much tells us the game is about finished. Tetsuya and other developers and marketers have stated that voice overs are the last stage in the process.

Second, we’ve got FROZEN. Now, I did not like the movie too much. You can tell from two of my reviews on the movie that it’s not my favorite. However, I did always feel the story would weave in well with Kingdom Hearts. First off, the character Elsa struggles with her own darkness. She’s not completely of the light, but she’s not darkness either. Then, I always thought the setting would be interesting as well as the fighting.

It’s interesting to see Sora’s sudden realization of the cold. In both the Halloween Town/Christmas Town world and the Land of Dragons world, Sora encountered snow. But he never once talked about how cold it was. Then again, since the end of KH2, he’s been back on Destiny Islands for most of his time. And Arendelle is frozen over and probably much colder than the other places. Not to mention, there are no warm spots like in the other two worlds.

Already, I’m liking the heartless or whatever they are. Unversed? The reindeer heartless particularly. That was a creative touch.

I like the disc sled. It’s amazing how we’re going to be able to use the weapons in such versatile ways in this game.

Even though this is the Frozen trailer, we got a few extra surprises.

Wreck it Ralph looks like he’s making an appearance. So far, it just looks like he’s a ” summon link”. I’m not sure if his world will be playable. I wish it would be.

It also seems like they gave us a gummi ship preview! Which looks awesome! It looks like the gummi ship will be returning!

And Larxene is back! It looks like all the organization members will be back in the game. But it appears not all of them returned back to darkness. Larxene and Marluxia were hopeless cases…Still, I would like to know Larxene’s backstory…

Finally we have Aqua…It looks like she succumbed to the darkness in her heart. But what could we expect? She’s been roaming there for years and she’s had a mirror talking to her, feeding her darkness every time she visited that part of the Dark World (if you played Kingdom HeartsĀ Birth By Sleep 0.2 Fragmentary Passage, you know what I’m talking about. I hated that thing.)

Simba returns! I heard there are no summons in this game, only “links” that function like summons. They might as well call them summons.

And it looks like Ratatouille will make an appearance! He might just be a summon “link”, but that’s fine with me.

The more I see of the Gummi Ship, the more I want to play this game. It looks phenomenal! I’m itching to get my hands on this!

Even Yensid’s tower looks amazing! It’s sexy even! Angelic even!

I’m really liking the words don’t seem so hollow. In Dream Drop Distance, the worlds didn’t have any “people” in them, so they didn’t feel alive. There seem to be far more people in this game, which will actually make them feel like worlds.

It looks like Sora is finally, FINALLY, doing some investigation on Roxas. He’s down in the computer room in the Haunted Mansion (I wonder if we’ll learn more about that place…Like, who used to live there?).

Zexion, or rather Ienzo, decided to show up to the party. But this time he seems to be on the good side. Where he’s speaking in the trailer looks like the computer room in Radiant Garden, and the doorway to Tron’s world. Will we return there? Radiant Garden is starting to look far superior to what it looked like in KHII. It’s interesting that we haven’t seen much of that world or any other in-game worlds.

Finally, we’ve got Kairi and Axel. More on this later…

Pirates of the Caribbean is making another appearance! Only this time, it isn’t a small set of islands in one world. It’s massive. It appears to be based off of the sequel. I heard that Johnny Depp voiced Jack Sparrow, which is pretty cool. Everything seems to be fitting right into place.

I did not expect to see this world, of all worlds, return. And I wasn’t sure I even wanted it to return. I was a bit disappointed with the KHII version, as it seemed I spent most of my time on the ship. After the world was defeated, some locations were even closed off, which made the world seem even smaller.

This time, they aren’t playing around with us. This might actually end up being my favorite world.

The boat-battle scene is fantastic. It hardly even looks like the same game.

And Sora’s new get-up though! Looking sexy!

The heartless are so interactive! The Power Wild heartless is literally climbing the vines! Playing the games, you used to be able to escape the ground heartless by jumping up the vines (with the exception of the flying heartless). No more!

The underwater function is unbelievable! It isn’t just “water” anymore. It literally looks like an ocean.

Luxord is back, and it seems he’s back with the organization, too. What is so appealing to this organization? What is Xehanort doing to their minds? He’s like…controlled opposition. He’s got the “Jim Jones” effect.

We see more of Olympus Coliseum. I’m glad we have all the other Titans. We might even get to fight the others too, not just Rock Titan.

And finally….Why is Axel moving in on Kairi? Boy goes away for awhile, and these two start cozying up!

JK. šŸ˜›

But it’s great to see that Kairi has a new look. I was wondering about that.

 

So that’s my spin on the new trailers.

 

The official released date is : JANUARY 29, 2019 Worldwide.

No, your eyes aren’t playing tricks on you. We finally got the official release date.

But some of you may be like “What? They said 2018! Delayed! Delayed again! Who’s to say it won’t be delayed again?”

Well, I had the same reaction when I first heard the release date. But then I thought about it. What could have caused the delay? The game is pretty much finished, to the point we have the English voice-overs.

Tetsuya Nomura mentioned in an interview that there wasn’t an issue with development but that they wanted to aim for the “worldwide release” that fans have been asking for.

“The timing of release that we were actually looking at, we were told by many people, including hardware manufacturers, marketing teams, sales teams that it just wasn’t a good timing in the year,” Nomura said via translation, explaining that the differences in holiday lengths and how stores behave in different regions were a note of concern.

“…For Kingdom Hearts 3, the [Square Enix] western offices had requested to release the game as simultaneously as much as possible between Japan and America, so we were no longer able to just think about Japanese issues and retail situations,” Nomura said.

Click me for the full article

At first, many fans suspected that the “fan event” back in April (an event where a select few of Kingdom Hearts content creators and promoters) were invited to play the game. Tetsuya listened to some of the fans’ concerns during the event.

But now we can rest easy. Tetsuya just wants to make sure everybody gets it, which is good for me because I won’t have to worry about spoilers.

Anyway, I’m not too disappointed with the delay. After all, this does give me time to get my finances in order so I can start making my Kingdom Hearts purchase. I also have something to look forward to next year. Just one more reason to live.

In better news, the Kingdom Hearts III BUNDLE is up for pre-order! It’s a special edition bundle that won’t last long so get it while it’s available!

The price is running up into the $230 range…Yikes. But it might be worth it. For me, that’s a car note.

Kingdom Hearts III Bundle PS4

Kingdom Hearts III Bundle XBox 1

The Deluxe edition is cheaper and still comes with cool collectible items.

Kingdom Hearts III Deluxe Edition PS4

Kingdom Hearts III Deluxe Edition XBox 1

But I might wait around for the Collectors’ edition.

Leave me a comment and let me know what you thought about all of the Kingdom Hearts trailers and the release date! Are you happy Tetsuya is working to improve the game or do you wish he would just release it already? Let’s get the discussion going!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.