Hunger Games Review

8 Apr

Can I just mention that this movie is just EXCELLENT? I haven’t seen a movie this good (especially based off of a novel) in a long time. The movie is original and inspirational. It wasn’t a “Marvel comic” movie. It was something deeper. Deeper than Avatar (which wasn’t so deep), and maybe a little less mind-tripping than Inception.

The story follows 16 year old Katniss Everdeen, a kind of tomboyish girl who knows a lot about surviving in the woods. She lives in a poor, starved town, a district near the capitol, Panem. Panem was once North America, and it is an advanced city that dominates all the other districts (everyone there looks like a clown). In this place, there is an annual event called the Hunger Games, where one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 are selected by lottery from each of the 12 districts surrounding the capitol to a “reality” television show. In this show, all of them must try to kill each other until one victor remains. This is based off of the novel by Suzanne Collins, who wrote the whole trilogy (guess that means two more movies, huh.)

The movie was so interesting, that it is still playing on my mind. It makes me wonder, not to sound like a mother Theresa, but how far will humans go for entertainment? Just like in the past, people used to make a day out of going to watch people at hangings…it’s pretty sick. But I guess it’s no different from modern-day wrestling, but at least today’s wrestling is by choice.

It also makes me think about one other question: What would I do if I had to survive that way?

The movie came together well from the beginning, leaving no plot holes, choppy scenes, and building up the emotions of the viewers for the climax. I felt anxious as I waited for the “hunger games” to begin. Nothing seemed to be rushed into the film to fit it all, it all came together smoothly. While at first glance, this may also come off like a silly young adult movie, it is pretty good for a story geared towards the pre-teen and teen audience. The movie took away most of the irrelevent parts of the book without running away from the novel.

I can say I was a little disappointed in the end at the outcome of the antagonist. But it just brought out the reality of the situation. I was impressed with this movie. It just really isn’t a copy cat movie, I swear. So whenever you get a chance, see this movie. It’s worth every penny.

3 Responses to “Hunger Games Review”

  1. Jeyna Grace 2012/04/08 at 07:21 #

    I love the movie too!

    Like

    • generationnext 2012/04/09 at 04:53 #

      Yes, I can’t wait until it comes on DVD! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  2. instillari 2012/07/08 at 02:23 #

    I agree, it was a great movie! Really well done, can’t wait for the next one.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.