Birth By Sleep on the PSP Review

12 Sep

This game…is awesome….

Did I finish it that fast? No. That’s how good this is. This game to me, is better than Kingdom Hearts 2, which despite it’s anticipation rate, didn’t deliver quite what everyone expected it to. Well, it was a great game, and delivered more than Kingdom Hearts 1 as far as gameplay. But it was much easier to beat and the story was more confusing. It just seemed to be trying to explain heavily what went on in Chain of Memories…which confused people who didn’t realize that Chain of Memories was a mandatory game. I mean, who would think a game where you go back to the same worlds you did in Kingdom Hearts would be so important? Even in 358/2 Days, a repeat of worlds and heavy dose of missions caused some exhasperation.

But Birth By Sleep is like a fresh spring of clear water. A brand new story, all new characters, multi-player modes, brand new worlds, and new gameplay and fighting styles….adding weapons. The music still has the same appeal as well. My favorite opening song, Simple and Clean by Utada Hikaru, showed up on there too.  The bosses are challenging and fullfilling, and it takes about 4 days to beat one story….about as long, if not longer, than Kingdom Hearts 1. Well, the good thing is no Kingdom Hearts game takes just one day to beat. At least 3 daysof your time are mandatory. If someone says they beat it in two days, they are lying and never played the game. Even if you whipped bosses smoothly without dying, you couldn’t beat the game in 24 hours. Not even 48 hours.

I would say Birth By Sleep is everything I expected it to be. But I’m waiting for some surprises as I continue through the game. I know the storyline will definitely be a major plus of this game, as many questions that were left in the last four games will be answered. Maybe not all, but some will.

So, for all who want to know if they should get this game. This is a definite must. It’s a shame it’s only for the PSP. I think Square-Enix listened to the demand of the fans for this one. 10/10 From me.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.